Lent Reflection: Help me give more than I take

A sign at Occupy DC

Last week, Father Frank asked us what Lent meant to us. This year, I have been thinking of Lent as a season of small steps and practices that can help me remember where I should have my grounding; where I should place my trust. This sign, from the Occupy DC site, is another reminder of that. In thinking about Lent, I thought of how often I am “looking down” – usually looking down at a phone or computer screen, trying to accomplish the next thing on an endless list.

For Lent, I’ve been experimenting with trying to look up every once in awhile, and living in the present. I am trying to give up multi-tasking (at least outside of work) and being comfortable with taking longer to accomplish what I need to; I am trying to give up being two steps ahead, and instead focus on the present, what’s in front of me. I hope, ultimately, this can help me give more than I take, or that it will at least make me realize what I have.

This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment